A humbling encounter.

Today I was overwhelmed with great humility at a Malaysian’s youth conference. It was called Projek Amanat Negara.

I can’t remember whether it was Mahathir or a student leader talking about societies in UK universities under the names of political parties such as UMNO, DAP and PKR. However, I remember hearing “Club UMNO” and bluntly uttering “That’s bullshit” without much thought to it. Then, the person sitting in front of me turned his head and kindly explained to me why it was called Club UMNO. I could tell he was a supporter of the government from his stern face and serious low pitched voice; but at the same time, I knew he was trying  his best to maintain his composure with the arrogant, know-it-all boy who was sitting directly behind me.

Yes, I genuinely felt like a prick. It turns out that these clubs are sponsored by these political parties and the name of the club was just a way of them of returning the favour as though providing a means of advertisement for sustainable financial support in return. It was such a humbling experience having him remind me some words and expression need to be filtered if you don’t know much about the topic of interest. 

Good night. 

One thought on “A humbling encounter.

Leave a Reply

