Death brings people together

My sister called me over to take a picture with my cousins. Dad’s side. Then I realized that I haven’t seen all of them in ages; the deeper feeling that sank was that it took someone’s death to bring us all together.

Death brings people together. Let that sink in for a bit.

And to think there was never a larger incentive for everyone to gather before my uncle passed away, you reconsider what being part of a family actually means.

But there’s that inadequate saying that blood runs thicker than water. I’d rather rephrase it: family stretches through time, distance, and generations. How often you meet is less important than how you feel when you meet someone.

With family I guess it’s special, but I keep wondering.

Leave a Reply

